36 states were needed to ratify the 19th Amendment,

National Woman’s Party activists watch Alice Paul sew a star onto the NWP Ratification Flag

National Photo Co. 1929-1920

Kentucky ratified on January 6

Rhode Island ratified on January 6

Oregon on January 13th

Indiana on January 16

Wyoming on January 27

February and March 1920 brought eight more!

Nevada ratified on February 7

New Jersey on February 9

Idaho on February 11

Arizona on February 12

New Mexico on February 21

Oklahoma on February 28

West Virginia on March 10th

Washington State on March 22

5 states ratified in January 1920  


On August 26, 1920, the 19th Amendment was certified by U.S. Secretary of State Bainbridge Colby.

That November, across America, more than 8 million women voted in elections.

It took over 60 years for the remaining 12 states to ratify the 19th Amendment.

Mississippi was the last to do so, on March 22, 1984.

The nation had to wait until August 18th, 1920 when Tennessee became the 36th state to ratify.

Nashville Tennessean, 1920

22 states ratified in 1919